Following the attention we have given to Redigaffi in the last twelve months we were delighted to taste a vertical from 1996 to 2010. Tua Rita’s flagship wine is extraordinary long lived and perennially delivers spectacular concentration of fruit, balance and complexity. Redigaffi makes up one of the Holy Trinity of 100% Merlot Super-Tuscans, the others being Messario and the great Masseto which Redigaffi generally out-scores. The 1999 vintage which received 100 points from Wine Spectator was made from vines under 15 years old, a truly amazing achievement. This wine, along with the 2000 which scored 100 points from Parker himself will improve for another 15 years and drink for 30. Redigaffi starts at £600 for a half case, luckily there is a more accessible way to enjoy the wines of Tua Rita.

Giusto Di Notri

Tua Rita makes a Cabernet Sauvignon focused Bordeaux blend that is suberb value for money called Giusto Di Notri. It is made up of 60% Cabernet Sauvignon, 30% Merlot and 10% Cabernet Franc. It is a Super-Tuscan in its own right, providing exceptional quality, providentially much more approachable than the Redigaffi while young. Antonio Galloni awarded it 96 points in 2006 and 97 points in 2001. We tasted several vintages which are all of exceptional quality, each providing intense fruit with a complex nose, combining floral aromas with liquorice and leather; older vintages display a touch of mushroom. Giusto Di Notri can be approached after two years in bottle and cellared for 7-10. The five year old 2008 is a case to open today and drink over the next few years.

The 2008 Giusto di Notri is wonderfully alive in the glass. Dark red berries, flowers, spices, grilled herbs, licorice and leather are some of the notes that flesh out in this dazzling, vibrant Giusto di Notri. Polished tannins provide the backdrop for the silky, expressive finish. A final blast of red fruit adds freshness and brightness on the close. Giusto di Notri is 60% Cabernet Sauvignon, 30% Merlot and 10% Cabernet Franc. Anticipated maturity: 2016-2028. Antonio Galloni